Spicy Chicken Lo Mein

I’ve grown up eating vegetables at dinner time so I really don’t mind (most) of them. But one place they should not be is in fried rice or lo mein. It’s just too much. So I made some lo mein. With no vegetables. And as expected, it is indeed better when it’s veggie-free.

Spicy Chicken Lo Mein:
Ingredients: (serves 4-6)
1 lb chicken breast
Garlic salt, pepper, coriander, cayenne pepper to taste
12 oz spaghetti
1 tablespoon salt
2 tablespoons sesame oil
3 tablespoons butter
Toasted sesame seeds, optional

For the sauce-
1/4 cup reserved pasta water
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 1/2 teaspoons sriracha
(Note: this amount of sauce was perfect for my taste but my friends preferred more – so feel free to double it and/or adjust it to your taste)

Directions:
Cook the pasta according to directions, putting a tablespoon of salt when the water comes to a boil. Reserve 1/4 cup water before draining and add in 2 tablespoons of butter to the drained pasta to keep from sticking and for some flavor. Set aside. Cut the chicken into nuggets and throw into a large skillet with the sesame oil and a tablespoon of butter. Season with the garlic salt, pepper, cayenne, and coriander generously. Saute on medium-high until fully cooked. Meanwhile in a medium-small bowl, mix together all the components to the sauce. In a large bowl toss together the pasta, chicken, and the sauce until everything is fully coated. Top with sesame seeds and garnish with parsley if desired.

Problem solved.

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. my mom always makes me a recipe really similar to this and I am obsessed with it!! YUM

    Reply
  2. Yet again another recipe I’m bookmarking! You are such a talented cook Chloe šŸ™‚ Love the photos too!

    Reply
  3. you and these recipes….always making me drool šŸ˜‰ as much as i love vegetables, i think there are some things that are best without. then you can enjoy the other deliciousness šŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Anita

     /  February 26, 2012

    I’m definitely going to try this receipe!! Everytime I order chicken lo mein, I always order it without the vegetables!!! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Your photos keep getting better and better! I may not eat chicken, but them noodles and sesame seeds have set me salivating. šŸ˜‰

    Reply
  6. mmm.mmm…I love Asian noodle recipes. I’m making one this week!

    Reply
  7. Just found your blog via fabulous Joy the Baker. Love your posts and pics!

    Reply
  8. oh my dear this looks amazing! Spicy, peanut, noodles. I’m on board!

    Reply
  9. I love lo mein (and anything spicy) but have actually never made it myself. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  10. I’m trying not to look at the brownie batter nutella brownies below because I might hit the kitchen at 4 am and make them! That said, your chicken lo mein look better than any in any Chinese restaurant I’ve had it at. Love the spicy part -So beautiful and inviting in those gorgeous photos. Finally, yes, you must try the popovers!!

    Reply
  11. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
    I made this tonight, doubling the chicken and the sauce, and it fed four of us with a small handful of pasta left over. I definitely recommend doubling the sauce, and doing it with 2lbs of chicken really fills everyone up.

    Reply
  1. Forget Take-Out! Make Perfect Chinese Food at Home | Yummly

Leave a comment

  • Hey! I'm Chloe. 18 years young. Aspiring chef/baker. Food enthusiast! Welcome to my world of all things food where I document recipes and experiences as I go through my culinary journey. Enjoy! :)

  • Contact/Social Media

    Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • disclaimer

    All recipes on this website have been tested and tasted by me. I'll never post a recipe I wouldn't eat or that's not good enough for me, for you all. If you try any of my recipes please feel free to leave a comment on the post to tell me how it turned out or give any constructive criticism.
  • Recent Posts